The Annual Ministerial Meeting of the Least Developed Countries was held in New York on 27 September 2012. The main purpose of the meeting was to provide strategic guidance for the full, effective and timely implementation of the Istanbul Declaration and Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the Decade 2011-2020, as well as to articulate the position of LDCs on key issues under various agenda items of the Second Committee.

At the outset, the Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Nepal made a statement outlining the key achievements made during the chairmanship of Nepal. Following this, he handed over the chairmanship of LDCs to the Foreign Minister of Benin. The Foreign Minister of Benin articulated his priorities, as the chairman of LDCs, for the years to come. The Meeting also welcomed the Under Secretary-General and High Representative for LDCs, LLDS and SIDS Mr. Gyan Chandra Acharya for his assumption of the Office of the High Representative of LDCs, LLDCs and SIDS. The Under Secretary-General Acharya gave a statement on the theme “challenges before LDCs and the way forward for the implementation of the Istanbul Programme of Action”.

At the meeting, the delegation of Benin presented the Interim Report of the IMRO study. The delegations of Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Malawi, Lao PDR, Angola, Togo, Guinea, Ethiopia, Sudan, Tanzania, Solomon Islands, Eretria, Senegal, Burkina Faso and Haiti spoke at the Ministerial Meeting.

A Ministerial Declaration was adopted by consensus. In the declaration, the Ministers reiterated their firm commitment to implementing the Istanbul Programme of Action. They expressed serious concerns over the ongoing multiple crises that affect LDCs in many ways. They also expressed concerns over the estimated fall of net bilateral ODA by 8.9 percent in real terms to LDCs in the year 2011. The declaration emphasized the imperative need for strengthening the global partnership for development, encompassing the full range of actors.

List of statements delivered during the general debate:

  • H.E. Gyan Chandra Acharya – Under Secretary-General for LDCs, LLDS and SIDS [Eng]
  • H.E. Dr. Zalmai Rassoul – Minister of Foreign Affairs of Afghanistan [Eng]
  • H.E. Prof. Nassirou Bako-Arifari – Foreign Minister of Benin [Fr]
  • H.E. Narayan Kaji Shrestha ‘Prakash’ – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Nepal [Eng]
  • H.E. Modest J. Mero – Minister Plenipotentiary of the Permanent Mission of Tanzania [Eng]