The Tenth Meeting of Ministers of Landlocked Developing Countries was held on 23 September 2011, in New York, in the sidelines of the 66th session of the General Assembly general debate. 

The meeting was chaired by His Excellency, Mr. Jorge Lara Castro, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Paraguay, in his capacity as Chairman of the Group of LLDCs. His opening statement is available in Spanish and English (unofficial translation).

Opening statements were also made by Mr. Cheik Sidi Diarra, United Nations Under-Secretary-General and High Representative for Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States (UN-OHRLLS), and Ms. Alica Bárcena, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC).

The meeting was attended by delegates, including Ministers and representatives, of the following Member States: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Malawi, Mongolia, Nepal, Paraguay, Republic of Moldova, Tajikistan, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Representatives from Office of the President of the General Assembly, the Special Unit for South-South Cooperation of UNDP, UNESCAP, UNECLAC and the United Nations Office of the Higher Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States also attended. The list of participants is included in the report of the meeting.

Ministers and high-level officials representing landlocked developing countries made statements during the general debate on the theme “Accelerating the implementation of the Almaty Programme of Action and launching the preparatory process for its comprehensive review in 2013”:

  • H.E. Mr. Narayan Kaji Shrestha ‘Prakash’, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Nepal
  • H.E. Mr. Desalegn Hailemariam, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
  • H.E. Mr. Gombojav Zandanshatar, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade of Mongolia
  • H.E. Hon. S.S. Mumbengegwi, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Zimbabwe, delivered by Mr. Joel MuzuwaCounsellor, Permanent Mission of Zimbabawe to the United Nations
  • Hon. Mohlabi Tsekoa, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of Lesotho
  • H.E. Mr. Hamrokhon Zarifi, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Tajikistan
  • H.E. Mr. Dasho Daw Penjo, Acting Foreign Minister of Royal Government of Bhutan
  • H.E. Ms. Dinara Kemelova, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kyrgyz Republic
  • H.E. Mr. Alounkeo Kittikhoun, Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  • H.E. Dr. Zalmai Rassoul, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, delivered by Mr. Daud Yaar, Director General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • H.E. Mr. Rafael Archondo, Ambassador, Deputy Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of the Plurinational State of Bolivia to the United Nations
  • H.E. Mr. Tofig F. Musayev, Deputy Permanent Representative of the Republic of Azerbaijan
  • H.E. Mr. Kayrat Umarov, Deputy Foreign Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan

The Communiqué adopted by the Ministers called for the accelerated implementation of the Almaty Programme of Action and, inter alia, for: (1) assistance by the development community to LLDCs to implement policy measures to strengthen and broaden their productive capacities and enhance value addition to their exports in order to be able to reap available trade opportunities and to enable LLDCs cope with multiple external shocks and to mitigate the impact of new and emerging challenges; (2) provision of financial, technological and capacity-building support to enable LLDCs to address the impacts of climate change; (3) the inclusion in the agreement on trade facilitation in the final outcome of the Doha Development Round of binding commitments ensuring freedom of transit, strict limits on fees, charges and formalities and transparency as well as common standards for documentation requirements; (4) a successful outcome of the UNCTAD XIII Conference, placing development at the center of the global agenda, to achieve inclusive and sustainable growth for developing countries; (5) Aid for Trade flows to give adequate consideration to the special needs and requirements of landlocked developing countries; (6) increased support for infrastructure development including closing of the missing links; (7) UN-OHRLLS to further its efforts in the promotion of an African transport infrastructure intergovernmental agreement particularly for the Trans-African Highway; (8) the General Assembly to decide on the convening of the comprehensive ten year review conference of the Almaty Programme of Action in 2013, in accordance with its paragraph 49; (9) UN-OHRLLS to coordinate the preparatory process for the review.

Report of the Meeting