Bureau of the Alliance of Small States

The Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS) is an intergovernmental organization which was established in 1990 during the Second World Climate Conference in Geneva. AOSIS plays an integral role in carrying out advocacy for small island states and influencing international environmental policy.  A priority area of advocacy for AOSIS has been global climate change and its detrimental socio-economic and environmental effects on small island states.  In this regard, the Alliance has been closely linked with climate policy and specifically with the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)


H.E. Mr. Ahmed Sareer
Ambassador Extraordinaire & Plenipotentiary
Permanent Representative of the Republic of Maldives to the United Nations
8800 Second Avenue, Suite 400E
New York, N.Y. 10017

Email: info@maldivesmission.com  

Website: www.MaldivesMission.com 
Tel: (212) 599-6194, -6195
Fax: (212) 661-6405

Vice Chair

H.E. Mr. Mahe’uli’uli Sandhurst Tupouniua
Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary
Permanent Representative to the United Nations for the Kingdom
of Tonga
250 East 51st Street
New York, N.Y. 10022

E-mail:  tongaunmission@gmail.com
Telephone: (917) 369-1025
Telefax: (917) 369-1024

Vice Chair

H.E. Ms. Lois Michele Young
Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary
Permanent Representative to the United Nations for Belize
675 Third Avenue, Suite 1911

New York, NY 10017 

E-Mail: blzun@aol.com
 ; blzun@belizemission.com
Telephone: (212) 986-1240
Fax: (212) 593-0932


Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cook Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Fiji, Federated States of Micronesia, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kiribati, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Singapore, Seychelles, Sao Tome and Principe, Solomon Islands, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines Suriname, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Vanuatu


American Samoa, Netherlands Antilles, Guam, U.S.Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico

Click here to visit the AOSIS website.